avatar

Shivani P.

at Emory University

She/her/hers

Class of 2022

Hometown: Tucson, AZ

Major: Anthropology and Human Biology

Minor: Spanish


My favorite thing to do in Atlanta is...

My favorite thing to do in Atlanta is walk around the Beltline. There are so many fun restaurants around there and in Ponce City Market to try! I also really like going to the botanical garden, it is a peaceful escape in the middle of urban Midtown. It is always nice to get off of campus for a bit and walk around Midtown on a sunny day with some friends.

On a random day, you're most likely to find me….

At Lullwater with friends doing homework, hiking, or just relaxing on a sunny day in the grass. I am also often at the Emory Student Center getting work done or getting coffee and a snack at Kaldis.

What has been your most impactful class?

My most impactful class was an anthropology elective focused on studying race, gender, and health. This class changed my perspectives on the would and people around me by making me more aware of many cultural differences and biases that affect me everyday. It also showed me how I can be active in my community and as a future healthcare provider while being cognizant of the many social determinants that affect healthcare disparities.

What is your favorite Emory tradition?

My favorite Emory tradition is going to the Farmer's Market every Tuesday. There are many different vendors with delicious food and it is nice to interact with my friends and peers, as well as small business owners from the greater Atlanta community. There is food from all over the world so it is nice to be able to try many different cuisines right on Emory campus!

I'm passionate about...

Working Out Watching TV Eating/Cooking/trying new foods Hiking

I'm involved with...

STEER team Orientation Leader Outdoor Emory SAHI Emory Karma Bhangra
View all team members for Emory University